Kale Crisps

Kale Crisps

A moreish, healthy snack for children and adults alike. They’ll be asking for green vegetables!

If your children are anything like mine, then they won’t touch green, leafy vegetables with a bargepole! This is obviously not great, as green leafy veg is chock full of all sorts vitamins and minerals and fibre that children need to grow and fight off pesky germs.  That’s why I love the recipe below. It makes a great, healthy snack for the kiddies (and me!) and is just one more way that I can sneak precious nutrients into them. These days, I make these every 2-3 days and my children would happily eat a whole 200g bag in one go… and then ask for more!

I’ve adapted this recipe from one found here. The main difference being that I only spin dry the kale leaves AFTER I’ve drizzled and massaged them with some olive oil. When I first tried the original method, I found the product slightly too oily. After experimenting a few times, I found this to be the best method of ensuring that I got light and crispy, not oily, kale pieces every time.

Ingredients:

200g bag of kale (I usually use the curly variety myself)

a little olive oil

sea salt/fleur de sel to taste

freshly ground black pepper to taste

Method:

1) Preheat the oven to 180C (conventional oven)/160C fan oven

2) Cut off  and discard the large stalks from the kale (these just become oily and squishy and tough after baking). Next, cut/tear up the leaves into bite sized pieces. Wash thoroughly.

Kale- Trimmed and Washed

3) Toss kale in olive oil, making sure pieces are evenly coated. Spin in a salad spinner until there is no more excess liquid.

4) Spread kale evenly on a baking tray/sheet.

Kale- Spread evenly on baking tray

5) Bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 mins. Before removing, briefly check that kale has turned crisp.

6) Remove from oven. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper to taste.

Finished kale crisps

7) Enjoy! Maybe even save some for your children… 😉

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

